Uncategorized

Poetry time…… Grade 10, May 3

Poetry: To Celia 

Drink to me, only, with thine eyes, 
And I will pledge with mine; 
Or leave a kiss but in the cup 
And I’ll not look for wine. 
The thirst, that from the soul doth rise 
Doth ask a drink divine: 
But might I of Jove’s nectar sup, 
I would not change for thine. 
I sent thee, late, a rosy wreath, 
Not so much honouring thee, 
As giving it a hope, that there 
It could not withered be. 
But thou thereon did’st only breath, 
And sent’st it back to me: 
Since when it grows, and smells, I swear, 
Not of itself, but thee. 

https://www.shmoop.com/to-celia/summary.html

B en Jonson wrote this in 1660 and was first put to music in 1770 by an unknown person (www.contemplator.com). The poem is a love dedication to a person who seems not to care about the affections (my take on it anyway). “Drink to me only with thine eyes” means honor me by paying me the attention I crave from you. I wish nothing else.

Explanation: Paraphrase of the poem:

The speaker tells a woman (we’re guessing her name is Celia) to drink to him only with her eyes – kind of like saying “cheers,” but with her eyes instead of raising a glass. He goes on to describe his “thirst” for this woman.

We’re not totally sure how much Celia likes the speaker, though. He tells us about how he sent her a wreath of flowers once, but she returned it. The cool thing is that, even though she returned the wreath, it never wilted. Somehow, Celia breathing on the wreath has given it eternal life.

Key Vocabulary words Explained:

1- Pledge: Promise

2- Divine:Heavenly, Godly

3- Sup :Sip, gulp.

4- Wither: To decay, decline, lose vitality.

5- Thereon: Immediately after that.

6- To honour: To pay respect.

7- To swear: To promise with an oath.
To swear to evidence under oath in order to obtain (a warrant for arrest).

https://brainly.com/question/4468942

NEXT 

Leave a comment